Toddlers Don’t Care

capture

Last night was a rough one at my house. And for once, it really didn’t have much to do with cancer.

My son is almost two years old. And, yes, he is in the throes of the “terrible twos.”

Toddler parents–you know what I’m talking about. The screaming. The refusal to sleep. The teething. The utter nonsense.

Last night was a perfect storm. He’s cutting about three teeth right now (two of them molars), he’d napped about 20 minutes total and it was waaaay past bedtime. Yet, instead of going to sleep like everyone else in the house longed to, he had a full-on meltdown the likes of which I haven’t seen in ages. So. Much. Screaming.

In the olden days, I’d soothe him with hugs, a calm voice and most likely, the boob. Of course, those days are long gone. The hugs and calming voice did nothing. It finally took strapping him to my body in a baby carrier (thanks, LILLEbaby!) and walking him around outside in the dark, a technique I hadn’t been forced to use in many months.

These nights are hard. And like everything else, they’re especially hard when I’m tired and a little loopy from chemo. I pray tonight is better. I pray he goes down without a fight (and sometime before 10 p.m.). Because even though I’m tired and a little out of it, toddlers don’t care.

 

6 thoughts on “Toddlers Don’t Care

  1. Woah. That is some intense mama work. I can’t imagine doing the whole cancering tango while parenting a toddler. (My guys were 11 & 15) Definitely sending hopes for deep sleep winging towards your house.
    Xo iris

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I feel like it’s a blessing and a curse. He’s too little to understand that mom needs a break, but at the same time, hopefully he won’t remember any of this, which I am thankful for.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Jennifer. I had no idea about your fight until today. Please know I’ll be keeping you and your sweet family in my prayers. Thank you for sharing your journey with the rest of us.

    Like

  3. Jennifer,
    I’m rooting for you in a major way. You are handling this with grace, I can tell from your vivid writing. I’ll be thinking about you and your family in the days and weeks ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

